Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Heya blogosphere!

Besides my normal city-trips I try to do a capital-city-trip every year and after London (2011) and Paris (2012) I decided to visit Rome this year. I spent 4 days there and I cannot even begin to tell you how excited I am to share my pictures and travel stories with you!

I have to admit that Rome was always one of the cities that never really was a priority to visit, I don’t know why, but it never really appealed to me. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t dislike it, and loved the architecture and historical sites, but maybe because there’s so much written and published about it I never thought seeing those things with my own eyes would make it more impressive somehow. Boy… was I wrong!!! In fact, I need to get back to Rome (and Italy for that matter) ASAP!

From all the clichΓ© touristic sights to the lesser-known-ones I enjoyed each and every one of them! And there’s still so much more to see and discover, I really need to go back soon!

Best picture of the day: Inside St. Peter’s Basilica, Baldacchino di San Pietro by Bernini. It’s a beautiful baroque sculpted bronze canopy.

By: Somedaysoonart

By: Somedaysoonart

I started the day by visiting the Vatican Museum.

Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At the end of the Vatican Museum the Sistine Chapel was waiting and I sneaked a little picture with my phone since it isn’t allowed to take photographs, I’m such a rebel πŸ˜‰

By Somedaysoonart

By Somedaysoonart

After the Vatican museum I went to St. Peter’s Basilica and apparently I was very lucky because the next day, around the same time, the pope was giving his blessings and it would have been impossible to enter the basilica or walk around on the crowded square.

Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I actually managed to capture St. Peter’s ghost, do you see him? Okay, it’s not really a ghost but a lucky shot with a weird light-source, but still pretty cool right? πŸ˜‰

By Somedaysoonart

St. Peter’s ghost by Somedaysoonart

Silly me, I had been looking for St. Peter’s statue everywhere, not expecting it to be so small. I was never aware that I actually did see it and even took a shot of it, until I got home and went through my pictures. It’s not a really good picture because of this, but oh well, at least my camera saw it right? Apparently one foot is worn down because pilgrims used to kiss and touch it during their pilgrimages over the centuries.

Statue of St. Peter by Somedaysoonart

Statue of St. Peter

From St. Peter’s square I went to Castel Sant’Angelo / the Mausoleum of Hadrian.

Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Shameless selfie, omnomnomnom πŸ˜€

20130903_164903

I had some well-earned rest after all of this excitement and had a nice cappuccino before continuing my way to Piazza Navona! I had my music-notes bracelet on and the waiter thought it’d only be fitting to serve me a music key cappuccino, how well thought out by him πŸ™‚

20130905_115135

Piazza Navona is a big square with three beautiful Baroque styled fountains and to me it kind of had the same feel as Paris’ Place du Tertre in Montmartre. I absolutely loved it and wished I had more time to spend there.

Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Nearby Piazza Navona is the Pantheon and here too I somehow managed to stupidly overlook Raphael’s tomb and Umberto I’s tomb. I did find Vittorio Emanuele II’s tomb though, although that one was hard to miss :)But what an amazing piece of history this is, rebuilt about 126 AD!!! It was breathtaking simply because of how incredibly old it is and it felt magical to walk around.

Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last stop of the day was Trastevere where I enjoyed a pizza and an amazing home-made tiramisu, but not before quickly stopping at Basilica di Santa Maria in Trastevere. Again, wow! I did not expect to see such vibrant colours behind the somewhat dull looking front of the basilica. I was really impressed by its beauty.

Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Soooo, to close off my ‘Rome Day 1 gallery’ here’s one more picture I really really like, hope you’ve enjoyed this and I will be posting day two soon!

M.

by Somedaysoonart

Basilica di Santa Maria in Trastevere by Somedaysoonart

